Bastrop CHL Academy
 Doyle Sullivent 512-537-3CHL (3245)
James Schubert 512-284-0339               
HomeCalendarAbout UsClassesContact Us

Paying Cash and want to Sign Up?
Contact Us
Classes Offered:
Initial Course - $100

Thank you for inquiring about or seeking additional information about The Texas Concealed Handgun License (CHL) class. Below is a snapshot of the Texas mandate CHL Course Curriculum. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you have additional need to do so. Our contact number is 512-537-3CHL or 512-284-0339

Purpose

This course provides the Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDPS) required classroom training and firearm qualification students need to obtain a Texas Concealed Handgun License (CHL).

Course Objective

To train and qualify students for submission to the Texas Concealed Handgun License qualification. Upon completion, students will have the following materials required to submit their application:

-Instruction certification for completed classroom curriculum and firearm qualification test.
-TxDPS CHL Application
-Notarized Affidavits--Notarized Affidavits- RELEASE OF RECORDS AFFIDAVIT KNOWLEDGE OF LAWS AND ELIGIBILITY AFFIDAVIT

Instructor

Doyle Sullivent and James Schubert are certified in the State of Texas and have several years of experience training others in the proper safety and use of firearms. The CHL professionally developed curriculum uses multiple training techniques and aides to help students learn the material and retain the content.

Course Prerequisite

-Basic proficiency with a handgun
-Fill out the online DPS application

CHL courses are not intended to train students how to shoot a firearm. The qualification test portion of the course is required by the State of Texas to demonstrate your ability to safely and properly handle and shoot a handgun.

Course Duration

-4 to 6 hours of classroom instructions and qualification testing

Mandatory Range Equipment to Qualify

Come range ready with:

-Semi-automatic handgun or a revolver** (unloaded and in a box) of at least .32 caliber in good repair and have no modifications that will make the handgun less safe. STUDENTS ARE NOT PERMITTED TO BRING WEAPON or AMMUNITION into the CLASSROOM. LEAVE IT IN YOUR VEHICLE.
-Baseball Cap
-Safety Glasses Can Be Provided
-Covered Ear Protection can Be Provided
-Footwear that covers both entire feet
-One box of 50 round ammunition

NO RELOADED HANDLOADED or SURPLUS AMMUNITION ALLOWED. Use commercial ammunition only.


Range Qualification Test Requirements (as dictated by the TxDPS)

Total of 50 rounds fired at a B-27 target (45" high x 24" wide)
Score of 175 out of 250 possible points (70 percentile) required to pass
Shooting stance from the ready position where firearm is already in a position to fire

Scoring:

3 Yard Line - 20 Rounds

1 round in 2 seconds, 5 times (5 rounds total)
2 rounds in 3 seconds, 5 times (10 rounds total)
5 rounds in 10 seconds, 1 time (5 rounds total)


7 Yard Line - 20 Rounds

5 rounds in 10 seconds, 1 time (5 rounds total)
2 rounds in 4 seconds, 1 time (2 rounds total)
3 rounds in 6 seconds, 1 time (3 rounds total)
1 round in 3 seconds, 5 times (5 rounds total)
5 rounds in 15 seconds, 1 time (5 rounds total)


15 Yard Line - 10 Rounds

2rounds in 6 seconds, 1 time (2 rounds total)
3rounds in 9 seconds, 1 time (3 rounds total)
5rounds in 15 seconds, 1 time (5 rounds total)

CHL Curriculum and Forms:

Cancellation Policy
Cash Customers:
Bring cash day of class, no penalty for cancellations. Please advise us if you do not plan to attend so that we do not wait to start class for you to arrive.

Paypal/Online Customers:
Cancellation fee of $10 with 48 hours notice. Fee is collected due to paypal charging processing.  Less than 48 hours, please reschedule your class as no refund is available. We are happy to have you for another day that works better for you.
NRA Courses - $TBD
Coming soon...